Ode…

Mostly inspired by the amazing mixtape put together by Radio Sweethearts, but even before that, I’ve been trying to find the right songs to say goodbye to the BPP.

I’ve got two that I think work. I’m not sure how they fit into the five stages, but…

The first is “Fair,” by Ben Folds Five. I think it expresses the absurdity of it all (see here for more on the absurdity).

Well, he shouted out his last word
and he stumbled through the yard
and she shattered her last china plate
and spun off in the car
When he lunged onto the hood
she stopped to tell him she’d been wrong
He was thrown head over heels
into the traffic coming on…

All’s fair in radio, too, I guess.

The next is “Somedays,” by Regina Spektor. It’s melancholy and sad. It’s a song about leaving, and loss:

Somedays aren’t yours at all,
They come and go
As if they’re someone else’s days
They come and leave you behind someone else’s face
And it’s harsher than yours
And colder than yours

… I’m not here, not anymore
I’ve gone away
Don’t call me, don’t write…

Good luck, BPP.

We’ll miss you.

I’ll miss you.

2 responses

  1. Great selections, I haven’t heard those songs, but seem very appropriate…

  2. Carlo Scannella | Reply

    Last.fm only plays a snippet of the song. I’ll look for full versions if you’re interested. They’re both great!

Leave a Reply

