If I Had More Time…

One of the things on my list of “things to do if I ever have the time to do them” list, is read more comics. I used to read them a lot as a kid. Mostly DC and Marvel — Batman, Justice League, Fantastic Four. I was always so transfixed by both the idea of superpowers (and what kid isn’t?), as well as the rich, immersive narrative worlds that were created around these characters. Lots of texture for a form that’s basically a few boxes on a page.

But that was then. Only fairly recently, when the first X-Men movie came out, and even more so, with V For Vendetta, did I start thinking about the genre, re-appreciating it for what it is. And feeling somewhat nostalgic about this interest, maybe bordering a passion, I had when I was a kid.

Anyway, Watchmen is on top of my list to read next, and maybe over Winter break, I’ll have the chance to read it. And here’s a roundtable discussion about the graphic novel, which I’ll eventually get to read as soon as I finish reading the thing the discussion is about.

Leave a Reply

